Best 10 Universities in Northern Nigeria

The top ten universities in northern Nigeria are hard to rate because the criteria used to determine the rankings can change. Here are some explanations of several northern Nigerian colleges that are often regarded as some of the best. Many of these universities have produced some of Nigeria’s most successful graduates, and they are renowned for their robust academic programs and research facilities. But rankings can change based on the standards applied; and thus this is by no means a comprehensive list. Read on to find out our list of 10 best universities in northern Nigeria.

Best 10 Universities in Northern Nigeria

The top universities in Northern Nigeria are listed below.

  • Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria
  • Federal University of Technology, Minna
  • Bayero University, Kano
  • University of Abuja
  • University of Maiduguri, Borno
  • Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto
  • Federal University Dutse, Jigawa
  • Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi
  • Kwara State University
  • Federal University of Agriculture, Makurdi

1. Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria

Nigeria’s Ahmadu Bello University is a public university. In Zaria, Kaduna State, Nigeria, is home to the Federal Government Research University. ABU was established on October 4, 1962, as the University of Northern Nigeria. Samaru and Kongo are the university’s two campuses in Zaria.

2. Federal University of Technology, Minna

The federal government of Nigeria owns the Federal University of Technology, Minna. The creation date was February 1, 1983. Its development is intended to put the country’s urgently required emphasis on science, engineering, and technology self-reliance into practice. It’s a technical university with a focus on particular fields.

3. Bayero University, Kano

Nigerian university Bayero University Kano (BUK) is situated in Kano, Kano State. It was founded in 1975 at the renaming and advancement of Bayero University College from university college to university. It is the original university of Kano State.

4. University of Abuja

Nigeria’s capital city of Abuja is home to the University of Abuja, a postsecondary institution. On January 1, 1988, it was founded as a dual-mode university with the responsibility of running programmes for both traditional and remote learning. With the matriculation of its first students in 1990, the University’s academic endeavours officially began.

5. University of Maiduguri, Borno

Located in Maiduguri, the capital of Borno state, lies the University of Maiduguri, a federal university. The university was established by the federal government of Nigeria in 1975 to make it one of the primary higher education establishments in the nation. With over 25,000 students enrolled overall, it comprises a college of medicine as well as colleges of agriculture, arts, dentistry, education, engineering, law, management science, pharmacy, science, social science, and veterinary medicine.

Related Articles

6. Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto

Three University Colleges were created before the Federal Government of Nigeria established four universities in September 1975, including Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto (previously known as the University of Sokoto).

7. Federal University Dutse, Jigawa

Since 2011, the federal government of Nigeria has founded nine universities, including the Federal University of Dutse (FUD). At FUD, there are graduate and undergraduate programmes offered.

8. Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi

Located in Bauchi, Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University is a public higher education school that is non-profit and was founded in 1988. The National Universities Commission of Nigeria formally recognises Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University (ATBU), a coeducational higher education institution in Nigeria.

9. Kwara State University

Kwara State University, or KWASU, is officially recognised as the 77th university in the nation by the Nigerian Universities Commission. It is the ninety-ninth authorised university in Nigeria. The government of Dr. Bukola Saraki founded the university in 2009 to make it more than just a conventional Nigerian institution. It was established to provide a platform for civic engagement and self-employment within the city.

10. Federal University of Agriculture, Makurdi

Situated in Makurdi, Benue State, the University of Agriculture, Makurdi is a Nigerian university. The institution was established in 1988 per the suggestions made in a 1987 White Paper on Higher Education Curriculum and Development in Nigeria by the federal government.


Related Post

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *